World’s Finest #19 (DC)

WF19

Rating: 2.5/5 – Nice art, but the story was a huge disappointment.
by ComicSpectrum reviewer Gilad Levin.

Worlds’ Finest #19 has two separate storylines that really don’t work well with one another.  It felt like two completely separate stories shoved into the same book in order to fill the 22 pages. Usually in a book multiple storylines are a good thing, but in this book they didn’t work for me. Not separately and not together.

The first plotline deals with Power Girl. She can’t control her powers since Desaad’s attack and as you can expect “hilarity ensues”.  One second it’s all serious “I can’t control my powers! I need help!” the next it was “I can’t control my powers! Let’s jump out a window!” It felt inconsistent and seemed to exist as filler for the second plotline.

The second plotline dealt with Huntress meeting Batman (and this was the moment that was primarily advertised for the issue and featured on the cover). Why does Huntress decide to meet Batman now after avoiding him since the beginning of the series? Because Power Girl’s powers were acting up.  Yes.  Apparently she thinks Batman can help with that…  One of my least favorite elements of the story was that it kept mentioning how Earth 2’s Batman was like this and Earth 2’s Batman was like that and blah… blah… blah…  I don’t know what this was supposed to convey that was important to the story, but it was not working for me at all.

Worlds’ Finest was a waste of my time.  It looked like it would be important to me as a DC fan/reader but ended up being a huge disappointment. I’m sorry I bothered with this book, I should have bought and read something else. The only reason this book got 2.5/5 is the decent artwork by RB Silva, Joe Weems, and Ryan Winn.

Reviewed by: Gilad Levin
(gilad@comicspectrum.com
)
https://comicspectrum.com/ Covering the full spectrum of comics culture

ComicSpectrum ComicBookRoundup Comic Blog Elite Follow ComicSpectrum: ComicSpectrum Twitter ComicSpectrum FB

About comicspectrum

The goal of ComicSpectrum is to provide a one-stop reference for everything about & related to comics and comics culture.
This entry was posted in DC and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

