Cyclops #6 (Marvel)

Cyclops #6

Rating: 4/5 – Extremely New Reader Friendly, Cyclops in Space With the Starjammers.
by ComicSpectrum reviewer Adam Alamo.

I’ll lay my cards on the table and admit I’ve never been a big X-Men fan, nor have I found Cyclops to be a particularly compelling character. I’ve always thought the X-Men universe is too convoluted and Cyclops has always rubbed me the wrong way. So, it’s surprising to me when I say that I’ve been a big fan of the latest Cyclops solo series. Part of it has to do with young, time-displaced Cyclops (from Brian Michael Bendis’ All-New X-Men series), who comes to us as a clean slate. Also, this is essentially a Marvel cosmic title rather than an X-Men book. But mostly, the reason for my fandom has been writer Greg Rucka and his great character-driven story. With Cyclops #6, however, we get a new creative team. Will new writer John Layman continue to tell the compelling story of father and son that has this series at the top of my read pile whenever it comes out? I gave this issue a try and I’m on board.

This issue begins a new adventure as Cyclops and his father, Corsair, rejoin their team of cosmic pirates, the Starjammers. Layman does a great job of reintroducing the cast and getting the reader all caught up on what’s been happening. No matter how far along I am in a series, I appreciate when a writer takes a moment to reintroduce the characters and the premise, if not for new readers, then for my memory. He does it within the narrative, which is a nice touch and doesn’t waste any precious time and space. Most of what follows uses Cyclops as a vehicle for getting to know the Starjammers better, while simultaneously highlighting that Cyclops is young and inexperienced in every way possible (some of it is cliché, but it did bring a smile to my face as I thought of my own adolescence). Because of this, I get the feeling that the Starjammers, who have been mostly absent from the series thus far, will play a larger role in the coming adventures. I’m okay with that as long as the main focus remains on the father/son relationship that has hitherto been so masterfully crafted. There is some of that this issue as well, so I don’t think I have anything to worry about. Mostly, this issue is just a good swashbuckling adventure that holds true to the spirit of the series, which bodes well for the shift in creative team. The shift in art is almost imperceptible, as Javier Garron continues in the vein of previous artist Russell Dauterman. The art is lively, fun, bright, and fits the material perfectly.

Cyclops #6 is a new beginning for another fun romp through space as promised to Cyclops when he took his father’s hand and joined his crew of bandits, The Starjammers. This issue gets very “piratey,” which is a lot of fun, especially when adapted to space adventures. I  hope that John Layman continues to write strong character-driven stories, but letting the story be plot-driven every so often isn’t a bad thing. This issue is extremely new reader friendly, while moving the story off to new adventures. I’m hopeful this series will continue to be as fun, adventurous, and touching as it has been. So far, it’s off to a great start.

Reviewed by: Adam Alamo
(adam@comicspectrum.com
)
https://comicspectrum.com/ Covering the full spectrum of comics culture

ComicSpectrum ComicBookRoundup Follow ComicSpectrum: ComicSpectrum Twitter ComicSpectrum FB

About comicspectrum

The goal of ComicSpectrum is to provide a one-stop reference for everything about & related to comics and comics culture.
This entry was posted in Marvel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

