Guardians of the Galaxy & X-Men: The Black Vortex Omega (Marvel)

Black Vortex Omega

CREDIT: Marvel Comics

Rating: 4/5 – A Satisfying Ending for a Weak Event.
by ComicSpectrum reviewer Adam Alamo

In the past couple months, I reviewed the initial volley into the Black Vortex crossover event and the Cyclops tie-in. I was not particularly impressed with either chapter, nor with the event as a whole. With the exception of the Captain Marvel issue, which I thought was a great character piece, I’ve found the story less than stellar and missing any of the real gravitas that a 13-part event should have. However, I continued to follow the event to its “Omega” chapter and despite how lackluster I found the whole experience, I thought it was one of its stronger parts and a pretty satisfying ending.

With this last chapter, we finally stop the galactic game of hot potato and the interstellar high speed chase to get down to business on what to do with an artifact that can grant cosmic power. I can’t say we learn too much more about it, which has been a real issue with me throughout the series, but at least it plays a more prominent role with this final issue other than that of a MacGuffin. Once all that is squared away, we begin to see the fallout of the event on each of our heroes and villains. Many head off on new trajectories and others must deal with new and unpredictable powers. We get a lot of the humorous banter that hasn’t been seen since the Alpha issue and an ending that is quite touching. I think this last issue is much more a character piece than being plot driven and that’s fine with me. Like the Alpha issue, we have Ed McGuinness taking the lead on pencils, this time supported by Javier Garron. I think these two work good together and the change in styles was not very perceptible. The number of inkers was also minimized, which always helps keep the art more consistent. The art on the Omega issue was definitely superior to that of the Alpha issue.

Overall, I wasn’t a huge fan of the Black Vortex event, although I thought it had a lot of potential. Perhaps this is a case of my expectations being one thing, but the story being another. However, I found the ending satisfying and I was happy to see the shake-up in the status quo. Many events promise big change, but never deliver. This one ultimately did with changes that have already made their way into our heroes’ own titles. Despite any reservations I had about this event, I’m left almost feeling sad that the Guardians and X-Men have to part ways. Nevertheless, I have a feeling it’s only a matter of time before they’re all together again.

Reviewed by: Adam Alamo
(adam@comicspectrum.com
)
https://comicspectrum.com/ Covering the full spectrum of comics culture

ComicSpectrum ComicBookRoundup  Follow ComicSpectrum: ComicSpectrum Twitter ComicSpectrum FB

About comicspectrum

The goal of ComicSpectrum is to provide a one-stop reference for everything about & related to comics and comics culture.
This entry was posted in Marvel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

