Red Agent #1 (Zenescope)

redagent

CREDIT: Zenescope

Rating: 5/5 – Riding Hood….. RED Riding Hood.
by ComicSpectrum reviewer Adam Brunell

I’ve been curious to read one of the Grimm Fairy Tales comic book series for a while now, but I was hesitant because the covers of the Grimm Fairy Tales comics don’t really pull me in with their cover girls in skimpy clothes. By the time I figured out to not judge a book by its cover, the series was too far along for me to comfortably start reading. But the first issue of Grimm Fairy Tales Red Agent hit the shelves this week and I figured it was a good place to start. And I was right, it was a good place to get into one of the many titles with the Grimm Fairy Tales story.

Grimm Fairy Tales creators Joe Brusha and Ralph Tedesco bring a great story with writer Lou Lovino. The dialogue and setting drew me in with covert operations and supernatural activity, a mix that left me interested to see where the story is going.   Now I’m going to be purchasing more Code Red and Coven back-issues to get myself more up to speed. The story is like James Bond meets Supernatural, and I could not go wrong with a combination like that.

Artist Diego Galindo provides stunning artwork, the angles during action scenes are intense and bold, they kept me focused on the action and made it easy to follow. Colorist Grostieta brings great concentrated color for any scene and the mix of Grostieta and Diego Galindo bring amazing designs to the story.

The Red Agent story pulled me in, and I’m not normally a secret agent/spy story kind of person, but mixing the secret agent with a supernatural story line was enough to sink my teeth into.  This is a 5-issue mini-series and I’m on-board for all 5 issues. In fact, I’ll be grabbing more Grimm Fairy Tales series to see if I feel the same way about other Zenescope offerings. My stack of pull-list comics is growing, and I’m interested to see what makes the cut and what doesn’t.

Reviewed by: Adam Brunell
(adamb@comicspectrum.com
)
https://comicspectrum.com/ Covering the full spectrum of comics culture

ComicSpectrum ComicBookRoundup  Follow ComicSpectrum: ComicSpectrum Twitter ComicSpectrum FB

About comicspectrum

The goal of ComicSpectrum is to provide a one-stop reference for everything about & related to comics and comics culture.
This entry was posted in Zenescope and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

