Spider-Women Alpha (Marvel)

SpiderWomen

CREDIT: Marvel Comics

Rating: 3.5/5 – Women of the Spider Family Having a Girl’s Day.
by ComicSpectrum reviewer Adam Brunell

I follow Spider-Gwen and Silk, but not Spider-Woman. I know Spider-Woman now has a baby, but that’s about it. As for Spider-Gwen and Silk I’m caught up. The three characters are very different, but all three are part of Marvel’s Spider-Man Family. The characters seem to be more like sisters than friends, and with that there is the talking behind the back about each other but still expecting the best out of your recently disregarded sister.

Writers Robbie Thompson, Jason Latour and Dennis Hopeless are taking on the Spider-Women mini-event, but Thompson is the writer who first up to bat for the Alpha issue.  I can’t say this issue pulled me into the event, to be honest I found the story a little hard to follow. Though it does leave me wondering what is going to happen next, it didn’t leave me completely fulfilled and satisfied. The story felt a little watered down.  Though there is action, spending page after page reading about a girl’s day out is honestly not my cup of tea, but it could be for someone else. I’m probably not the target audience for this book. The art on this first chapter of the event was done by Vanesa Del Rey. Her art style wasn’t for me either and I think that is where the comic lost me completely. The art felt to me like a mix of oil painting and crayons, which left some segments a little too stylized for me to find pleasure in it.

While the story and art of the “Alpha” chapter of this event were not my cup of tea, the next chapter is Spider-Gwen, with art by Bengal who is an artist I’m a big fan of.  it would be the only thing that keeps me moving forward with the Spider-Woman event.

Reviewed by: Adam Brunell
(adamb@comicspectrum.com
)
https://comicspectrum.com/ Covering the full spectrum of comics culture

ComicSpectrum ComicBookRoundup  Follow ComicSpectrum: ComicSpectrum Twitter ComicSpectrum FB

About comicspectrum

The goal of ComicSpectrum is to provide a one-stop reference for everything about & related to comics and comics culture.
This entry was posted in Marvel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

