Jim Henson’s The Storyteller: Giants #1 (BOOM!/Archaia)

giant

Rating: 4/5 – We Learn to Look Deeper Before Coming to a Conclusion.
by ComicSpectrum reviewer Adam Brunell

Straight from the late 1980’s, is a collection of myths and legends from around the globe about giants. Jim Henson’s The Storyteller is a flashback to when Jim Henson Productions had a television show where an old man and his dog told various stories either by the fireplace or interacting within the story. Gazing upon the cover for Jim Henson’s The Storyteller: Giants, I get knocked back to my childhood. I honestly didn’t know this was a comic book series that is released once and a while with new stories. Being the first issue to a four part series, I figured to grab the title and I am glad that I did.

This week’s release of The Storyteller: Giants, is based on a Japanese tale called, “The Peach’s Son”. Writer and Artist Conor Nolan tackled this story of wonder gracefully, but questionably for me. Though the story is entertaining and well written, it’s a bit off from the original Japanese story that I have read.  Some parts of the story have been changed to possibly accommodate the audience that it is being directed towards, or maybe there are different ways the story is told. The version I’m familiar with mentions that when the child is revealed to the elderly couple, the child is old enough to speak. In the version of the story told by Nolan, the child is a baby and is not able to speak. There are numerous little nitpick things that are off, but if I hadn’t read the story prior then I wouldn’t have even noticed the differences. Going off of the idea of not knowing the differences, the story was catchy and kept me interested. The story being a little off from the original didn’t drop the book in interest because of lack of accuracy, because this is all myths and lore with multiple tellings anyway. This story got me so easily interested, that I went in search of the old television show episodes to watch. When it comes to the story it’s all about the giant and his experiences on his journey. The giant encounters several creatures that go with him in hopes of gaining something in return from their good deed. It’s a great story of a teenage giant saving the land from an evil ogre king in hopes to be accepted by those in his town. The moral being to never judge a book by its cover and how we can put our differences aside for the great good.

I will recommend that people interested in this comic also try to find a version of the original story to fill in more details; the creatures the giant meets on his journey were not as tame as they were in the comic. Each creature is not fond of the other, but they put their differences aside to make things right.  I’m interested to see what story will be released next, so I have asked my local comic shop to put aside the rest of the mini-series for me as the issues come out. Nolan’s art and writing style are easy to follow and I can see something like this being read by people of all ages.

Reviewed by: Adam Brunell
(adamb@comicspectrum.com
)
https://comicspectrum.com/ Covering the full spectrum of comics culture

ComicSpectrum ComicBookRoundup  Follow ComicSpectrum: ComicSpectrum Twitter ComicSpectrum FB

About comicspectrum

The goal of ComicSpectrum is to provide a one-stop reference for everything about & related to comics and comics culture.
This entry was posted in Archaia, Boom! and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

