Clown Fatale #1 (Dark Horse)

ClownFatale1

RATING: 4/5 – When are clowns acceptable? When they’re hot girls…

I’m normally not a fan of clowns.  I think Stephen King’s “It!” did me in when I was younger.  If you do an internet search of just the word “clowns” you get some pretty disturbing stuff.  My apologies to all nice clowns out there, but you guys kind of creep me out.

scary-clowns

Then I read Clown Fatale by Victor Gischler with pencils by Maurizio Rosenzweig.  These guys have cracked to code to make clowns acceptable to me in this guilty pleasure extravaganza.  Meet the girls: Chloe, Candy, Tina, and Aya.  Extremely attractive young ladies who, when down on their luck, had to turn to a life of clownery.  They do point out “We may be clowns, but it’s not like we’re rodeo clowns” so there’s apparently a clown hierarchy and they’re at least one rung up from the bottom.

Bad language, cheesecake, nudity, violence.  Clowning around was acceptable to me in this context.  In this issue the girls get mistaken for a group of “circus hitmen” that are available for hire and are commissioned by a local boss to audition for a job.  Merriment ensues.  I should not need to say any more.  At this point this should either sound like it’s something you’d be interested in reading or not.  I was entertained, I’ll be back for the remainder of the mini series.

Reviewed by: Bob Bretall – bob@comicspectrum.com
https://comicspectrum.com/ Covering the full spectrum of comics culture

ComicSpectrum ComicBookRoundup Comic Blog Elite Follow ComicSpectrum: ComicSpectrum Twitter ComicSpectrum FB

About comicspectrum

The goal of ComicSpectrum is to provide a one-stop reference for everything about & related to comics and comics culture.
This entry was posted in Dark Horse and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.