Winterworld #1 (IDW)

WinterWorld

Rating: 3/5 – Thin on Setup and Context After a 27 Year Hiatus.
by ComicSpectrum reviewer Adam Alamo.

Nearly 27 years ago, Chuck Dixon created Winterworld, a three issue miniseries set in a bleak future where the planet is completely covered in ice. The story followed the struggles of a trade rider named Scully and an adolescent orphan named Wynn as they traversed this frozen world trying to stay alive. I never read the original, but when I heard that a new volume was being released, the description alone peaked my interest. When I read someone describe it as “Mad Max let loose in a frozen world,” there was no doubt I was giving this a try.

The first few pages of WinterWorld #1 certainly establish that Earth “has become a barren, lifeless wasteland,” as described in the book’s introduction. It points out that the no one remembers how the world got that way and that it really doesn’t matter–it’s all about survival. It’s not a book filled with pages of exposition belaboring the genesis of this future and I’m okay with that.  The remainder of the issue focuses on Scully and Wynn (and a rather smart badger named Rah-Rah) as they traverse the land and get into all sorts of trouble. The introduction states that they are searching for Wynn’s parents. One word bubble in one panel aside, without the introduction, I couldn’t tell you where they were going or why. There was little to no exposition here and that I was not okay with.

Just reading this comic, I couldn’t grasp the genesis of the relationship between Scully and Wynn. They are quite chummy and their banter humorous, but I wish there was some suggestion as to why they are together and why they get along so well. Could all this be because I’m a new reader? I don’t know. But after a 27 year hiatus in the series I’d expect that Dixon would have spent some time to make this issue more accessible to both new readers and those who haven’t read the original series in many years.  On the plus side, the illustrations by Butch Guice and colors by Diego Rodriguez were such a great fit that it seemed the world itself was a character in the story. The illustrations were moody and I could feel the chill of world from the colors alone. It is a perfect example of art that fits the subject matter.

I’ve come to expect that the goal of a first issues is to set-up the overall narrative of a series, so for me first issues aren’t always the best gauge of how a series will read in the long run. However, after reading Winterworld #1, I’m not sure if setting up the narrative was the goal of this first issue. There was some action and some interesting looks into a bleak future, but I didn’t get any sense of the purpose of this series or even who the players are. While all this may be addressed as the series unfolds, this first issue could have used a little more set-up if only to convince readers to return. I do love a story set in a grim future, and for now that premise alone will have to be enough to convince me to give Winterworld another try.

Reviewed by: Adam Alamo
(adam@comicspectrum.com
)
https://comicspectrum.com/ Covering the full spectrum of comics culture

ComicSpectrum ComicBookRoundup Comic Blog Elite Follow ComicSpectrum: ComicSpectrum Twitter ComicSpectrum FB

About comicspectrum

The goal of ComicSpectrum is to provide a one-stop reference for everything about & related to comics and comics culture.
This entry was posted in IDW and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.