Adam.3 #1 (Dark Horse)

Adam.3-1

CREDIT: Dark Horse

Rating: 3.5/5 – Fabulous Art and Format, Cool But Confusing Story.
by ComicSpectrum EiC Bob Bretall

While Adam.3 is not the first comic to use the horizontal “widescreen” format, it’s a rare enough occurrence that it helps the comic stand out, helped to no small extent by the fabulous art of Scott Kolins.  The logo is a bit over-designed, it’s hard to read which I don’t think is ever a good thing, but what do I know?  I’m not an artist, I just read these things.  Maybe in design circles the thing is a masterpiece, I just know that when I showed the comic to my wife and asked her to tell me the title of the comic.  She could make out the M and the 3.  She thought the D was an O, and the A’s eluded her.  She couldn’t make out the title.  Is that a good idea?

But let’s examine the inside of the comic.  Kolins does a great job of creating a world populated by fascinating world for Adam to live in populated by talking animals and lavish scenery.  I’m not yet sure how the space stations (or satellites) shown on the first page are going to play into the story or the ultimate source of the conflict between Adam and his son Beo. Add in some apocalyptic visions rendered in red, an inconsistent use of future slang like “Oh, Adam, don’t burden.  It will all sun.  Just fine.” and I ended up being challenged with getting a crystal clear understanding of just what was going on.

There’s a lot under the surface as Kolins is building his story along with the world.  I just wish he’d have given a few more crumbs of connective information in this first issue to help me get my head around what’s going on.  In the end, the art and the format are cool enough that I’ll be back for the 2nd issue.  Hopefully things will begin to gel, it’s a mini-series so I’m expecting to get some clarity sooner rather than later.

Reviewed by: Bob Bretall
(bob@comicspectrum.com
)
https://comicspectrum.com/ Covering the full spectrum of comics culture

ComicSpectrum ComicBookRoundup  Follow ComicSpectrum: ComicSpectrum Twitter ComicSpectrum FB

About comicspectrum

The goal of ComicSpectrum is to provide a one-stop reference for everything about & related to comics and comics culture.
This entry was posted in Dark Horse and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.