Saints #1 (Image)

Saints

CREDIT: Image

Rating: 4/5 – Are Saints Being Reincarnated?  If So, Why?
by ComicSpectrum EiC Bob Bretall

Saints #1 leaves a lot of questions unanswered.  Sometimes I’ll read a #1 comic that leaves a lot of ambiguity and say “Hmm.  OK, I don’t need any more of that.”  Other times the lack of answers leaves me craving clarity and I want to keep reading the series to find out what’s going on.  Saints #1 is a “I want to know more…” kind of comic.

This is a book I picked up off the rack at my LCS and the art grabbed me.  It’s different enough from most of the comics on the rack to be striking, and reading a few pages intrigued me enough to buy the book and bring it home.  Writer Sean Lewis introduces the main characters, so far; Blaise, Sebastian, and Lucy.  They’re each having dreams.  They each manifest an ability that bears a relationship to the saint who is their namesake.  And there is something a bit unsavory (to say the least) going on with a guy named Michael who may or may not have something to do with the Archangel Michael.  This debut issue takes place in a Los Angeles  rock club and a supermarket.  Artist Benjamin Mackey has a very simplified style that reminds me a bit of INJ Culbard (New Deadwardians, Wild’s End).  White the art worked fine for me on storytelling with the main characters, the flat and minimally detailed backgrounds failed to give the locations a strong sense of place.

Saints is a book where you need to dig a bit to figure out what’s going on, issue #1 scatters a bunch of breadcrumbs but I have no idea where they’re going to lead me.  Are Blaise, Sebastian, and Lucy reincarnated saints?  Are they something else?  I don’t know, but I’m sure we’ll find out in time.  This is a book that might read really nicely in collected edition format when a bigger chunk of the story is laid out and at least some of the mysteries stand revealed.  I’ll be back for #2 and #3 and we’ll see where the story takes me.

Reviewed by: Bob Bretall
(bob@comicspectrum.com
)
https://comicspectrum.com/ Covering the full spectrum of comics culture

ComicSpectrum ComicBookRoundup  Follow ComicSpectrum: ComicSpectrum Twitter ComicSpectrum FB

About comicspectrum

The goal of ComicSpectrum is to provide a one-stop reference for everything about & related to comics and comics culture.
This entry was posted in Image and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.