The Vision #1 (Marvel)

Vision1

CREDIT: Marvel

Rating: 4.5/5 – The Vision Builds a Family…Literally.
by ComicSpectrum EiC Bob Bretall

The Vision was my favorite Avenger when I was growing up, but somewhere along the line as they changed the character time and again, I drifted away from looking forward to reading his adventures.  I didn’t pre-order this one, but flipped through it in the shop and it looked interesting so I bought it and brought it home and am very glad I did.  This isn’t the Vision I knew as a kid, but this take on the character captured my imagination and has rekindled my love for the character.

I think Tom King’s story is at its core an exploration of The Vision trying to figure out his place in the world.  He wants to know what it’s like to have a family so he builds one: a wife, Virginia, and twin “teenagers”, Vin and Viv.  They get a house in the suburbs and are just trying to fit in.  Interactions with the neighbors, the kids going to school, normal everyday events that King looks at in a slightly off-kilter way with some outstanding captions and dialogue that really illustrate how world looks from the point of view of an artificial human.  Gabriel Hernandez Walta’s art is simply elegant, the perfect tonal match for the series.  On one hand precise and almost sterile in it’s precision of line, but with an underlying warmth assisted by the fabulous color artistry of Jordie Bellaire.

Tom King turned up the volume on the action in the last 4 pages, and it worked beautifully for me.  The slower pace of the bulk of the story was a nice change from the standard super-hero book, but I’m not sure how well it will go over with the majority of Marvel’s audience.  It’s the fact that this looks and feels so different from “standard super-hero” that is appealing to me, I hope it is able to sell well enough and build an audience so we’ll be able to continue examining The Vision’s view of the world.  The conclusion of this issue was a real “What the heck?!?!” moment for me and certainly caught me by surprise.  All the new Marvel #1s end with an add for the #2 issue that says “You Want to Know What Happens Next?”  In the case of The Vision #1, my answer is a resounding “YES!”

Reviewed by: Bob Bretall
(bob@comicspectrum.com
)
https://comicspectrum.com/ Covering the full spectrum of comics culture

ComicSpectrum ComicBookRoundup  Follow ComicSpectrum: ComicSpectrum Twitter ComicSpectrum FB

About comicspectrum

The goal of ComicSpectrum is to provide a one-stop reference for everything about & related to comics and comics culture.
This entry was posted in Marvel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.