All-New All-Different Avengers #8 (Marvel)

AllNewAv8

CREDIT: Marvel Comics

Rating: 5/5 – Standoff: Pleasant Hill Comes to an Outstanding Conclusion.
by ComicSpectrum reviewer Adam Brunell

I’ve never regularly read an Avengers title until last year.  I do own Avengers titles, I was just never a dedicated fan. I started out with the Uncanny Avengers and figured I would go for the All-New All-Different Avengers too. It took a little bit for me to get into it; it’s not my typical read. I figured with Nova, Ms. Marvel (Kamala Khan) and Spider-Man (Miles Morales) on the team it might be more interesting for me. Avengers for me are all drama, fight, team issues, more drama with the team and more fighting. The All-New All-Different Avengers still have their issues, but leave it to the new generation to point out the flaws.

This series so far has piqued my interest and I find it’s been providing astounding results. As “Standoff – Pleasant Hill” comes to an end, writer Mark Waid takes steps that I might question, but the magic in his writing is to keep things interesting. Such steps could be pointed at this recent issue, when Waid writes a scene where the reality changing child named Kobik (a manifestation of cosmic cube fragments), is brought to proper judgment by looking into the mind of Deadpool.  The moment where this little cosmic girl is being taught right from wrong by Deadpool is beyond touching, and rather humorous too.

The art in the series has brought excitement to my childlike heart with the list of artists I’ve grown to love and look forward to. Alex Ross, Mahmud Asrar and Adam Kubert have all put their skill into this series, but its artist Adam Kubert that takes the platinum star award from me for his work inside this comic. Kubert has supplied astonishing moments throughout this series, and like all the rest of his work, it’s beautiful. I personally love Kubert’s work, his angles are top notch and his ability to capture a moment is always breathtaking.

This doesn’t feel like a typical Avengers comic, but Waid has been doing things I didn’t expect this entire series. And he has created some pretty memorable moments for me in this new Marvel Universe. By the end of this comic I’m curious to see where Waid will go next with this Avengers team. My big question after seeing Steve Rogers in his young glory at the end of this comic is what if this reality altering child chose to cure Jane Foster of cancer. Right after reading this comic, I looked to see when the next issue will be released. An all new story starts in issue 9, and with The Wasp on the cover I’m thinking more great things are coming. This has been a great run, one of the best series I’m reading each month.

Reviewed by: Adam Brunell
(adamb@comicspectrum.com
)
https://comicspectrum.com/ Covering the full spectrum of comics culture

ComicSpectrum ComicBookRoundup  Follow ComicSpectrum: ComicSpectrum Twitter ComicSpectrum FB

About comicspectrum

The goal of ComicSpectrum is to provide a one-stop reference for everything about & related to comics and comics culture.
This entry was posted in Marvel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.