Cable #1 (Marvel)

CREDIT: Marvel

Rating: 4/5 – A Disorienting, but Fun, Trip Through Time.
By ComicSpectrum senior reviewer Shawn Hoklas.

Cable number one doesn’t waste any time before throwing you right into the thick of things. Cable is jumping back into time, into the old west specifically, to take on a group of criminals who have somehow gotten their hands on weaponry that is clearly from the future. As they sit within a saloon, dead bodies surround them and in comes Cable to try and set things right. Later in the issue, Cable jumps again to a feudal Japan where samurais have swords that are crackling with some type of futuristic energy and another fight ensues. There’s something off, someone is meddling with the timeline, and Cable is on a mission to find out just who or what it is.

We’re never sure what that something is and writer James Robinson is, so far, being purposefully light on the details. This first issue has plenty of action and the story moves along at a quick pace without ever knowing the larger plot. Robinson is trusting that you’ll be back to find out why, and for me, he did enough to pique my interest and get me to come back to find out where this story is headed. To be fair though, a large part of my desire to come back is because of the art by Carlos Pacheco.

I’ve always liked Pacheco’s art, but depending on who’s inking or coloring his work will determine just how much I like it and here I love it! The colors over Pacheco’s art are bright, the way I feel his art should be. Colorist Jesus Aburtov does a fantastic job of making the pages pop, from the sunny vista in the old west, to Cable’s bright 1990s influenced costume. Seeing Pacheco pencil the old west and feudal Japan shows his range and I’m really excited to see more.

Cable #1 doesn’t do a whole lot to give you a backstory for Cable, it instead assumes you have a knowledge of the character and throws you right into the action. If you’re a brand new reader to Cable, you may be lost on who Cable is, but I’m a long-time Cable fan and so far I’m lost for different reasons, which is the point. I feel as though I’m traveling through time with Cable and the time jumps have me disoriented, but I’m confident that Robinson and Pacheco will clear everything up…over time of course.

Reviewed by: Shawn Hoklas
(shawn@comicspectrum.com
)
https://comicspectrum.com/ Covering the full spectrum of comics culture

ComicSpectrum ComicBookRoundup  Follow ComicSpectrum: ComicSpectrum Twitter ComicSpectrum FB

About comicspectrum

The goal of ComicSpectrum is to provide a one-stop reference for everything about & related to comics and comics culture.
This entry was posted in Marvel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.