Star Wars: Mace Windu #1 (Marvel)

CREDIT: Marvel

Rating: 3/5 – This Is NOT the Star Wars Comic I’m Looking For.
By ComicSpectrum senior reviewer Shawn Hoklas.

I’m a big Star Wars fan, but of all the characters Marvel could have created a series about, Mace Windu was one of the last characters I was clamoring to read about, so this started off at a disadvantage with me. That being said, I’m still really enjoying the Star Wars line of comics and haven’t disliked anything they’ve published so far and thought this was definitely worth a try.

The story, by Matt Owen, takes place right in the middle of the Clone Wars so as of now, this isn’t a story that talks about Mace Windu’s origin or how he came to be a Jedi, which would have been interesting to me. Instead it picks up right after the Battle for Geonosis and has Mace Windu building a team of Jedi to go after a Separatist fleet that has landed on the planet Hissrich. One of the Jedi that Windu chooses is Kit Fisto, as well as two other Jedi who I’m unfamiliar with, but who may have had appearances in the cartoon.   The art by Denys Cowan never seemed to be the right fit. The pages are sparse and really failed to deliver anything but generic landscapes and backgrounds, and although Mace himself looks fine throughout this issue, I thought Cowan missed the mark with Yoda and some of the other Jedi.

Mace and his team fights with battle droids who regrettably use the same level of eye rolling humor we saw in the prequels, which really put this on rocky ground for me. The issue ended on a cliffhanger that really failed to excite me, leaving me even less interested in issue number two, which is the opposite effect a cliffhanger should be having on me as a reader. I was hoping for more, given how much I’ve enjoyed all of Marvel’s Star Wars material so far, but this looks as though it’ll be the first Star Wars series I skip.  This may be a series that resonates more with people who really love Mace Windu as a character.

Reviewed by: Shawn Hoklas
(shawn@comicspectrum.com
)
https://comicspectrum.com/   By Fans who Love Comics for Fans who Love Comics

About comicspectrum

The goal of ComicSpectrum is to provide a one-stop reference for everything about & related to comics and comics culture.
This entry was posted in Marvel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.