Uncanny #1 (Dynamite)

Uncanny1

Rating: 2.5/5 – Wait for the trade…

The premise here is that Weaver has the ability to steal other people’s skills (their memories, abilities, and expertise) for a limited time.  What we get in this issue is a fairly standard setup sequence where the use of his power goes wrong and he goes through a short sequence of events that did nothing to capture my interest to put him into the situation where he meets who I assume will be a major player when the ACTUAL story involving (so the solicit promises):

…he finds himself drawn into a dangerous game of international intrigue where the rules keep changing, the players are hidden… and the first thing he stands to lose is his life.

Andy Diggle normally tells a story that draws me right in (like the recent “Snapshot” series from Image or Vertigo’s “The Losers“) but really didn’t grab me with this issue.  I’d have loved to see the beginning of the action in the story described by the solicit.  What I feel like I got is the pre-credit sequence of a Bond movie with WAY less panache.  I think I’d have liked this a lot more if it was the first 20 pages of a trade that segued directly into the meat of the story as opposed to a $3.99 comic that I have to wait a month for the next installment of.   If the premise here sounds cool, wait for the trade & read the story in one go.

Reviewed by: Bob Bretall – bob@comicspectrum.com
https://comicspectrum.com/ Covering the full spectrum of comics culture

ComicSpectrum ComicBookRoundup Comic Blog Elite

About comicspectrum

The goal of ComicSpectrum is to provide a one-stop reference for everything about & related to comics and comics culture.
This entry was posted in Dynamite and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.