Drumhellar #1 (Image)

Drumhellar1

Rating: 3.5/5 – Fabulous Rossmo art, story that builds slowly.

I bought this primarily for Riley Rossmo’s art, I love his style and any time I see him advertised as the artist on a new series, it automatically goes on my pull list.  I wasn’t disappointed in the art, but had a rocky start with the story in this issue, I wasn’t sure what to make of it for about the 1st 1/3rd of the issue but then it clicked into place for me.

One negative to the art was a key scene on page #1 where Drum Hellar is struck by lightning.  Rossmo’s art didn’t really convey this event very well.  Maybe it’s in choosing to focus on the moment AFTER the lightning strike, but it’s an event that is referenced multiple times in the issue and it was not obvious to me when I first read the issue what I was actually witnessing on page #1.  That’s how the issue went for me.  Much more rewarding on a second read through as various story elements clicked into place for me.  This can be a positive in that multiple readings are rewarded or a negative in that the storytelling was subtle (or unlear) enough that I didn’t catch some things the first time through.

I’ll definitely be picking up #2 to see what happens next, the story of this paranormal detective who hangs around with werewolves, bog men, and small floating ghosts has intrigued me.

Reviewed by: Bob Bretall – bob@comicspectrum.com
https://comicspectrum.com/ Covering the full spectrum of comics culture

ComicSpectrum ComicBookRoundup Comic Blog Elite Follow ComicSpectrum: ComicSpectrum Twitter ComicSpectrum FB

About comicspectrum

The goal of ComicSpectrum is to provide a one-stop reference for everything about & related to comics and comics culture.
This entry was posted in Image and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.