Injustice Gods Among Us Annual #1 (DC)

InjusticeAnn1

Rating: 5/5 – Fun /= Funny, this is a FUN issue and I’ve been missing out.

For months I’ve been hearing people rave about Injustice Gods Among Us and since I’m not playing (and am not interested in) the video game I’ve been skipping it.  What a mistake.

Because I’ve heard so many good things I picked this issue up off the rack in the LCS this week and started flipping through it.  Hmmm.  The “real” Lobo.  Green Arrow has his goatee back….  I bought the issue.  This was the most entertaining DC comic I’ve read in months.   I fell right into the continuity and pickled up the world as I went along, Tom Taylor did a great job writing this issue.  It was FUN, I miss that.  That doesn’t mean it was staright humor, though there were definitely humorous elements, like the page with Harley & Lobo (5th from the end) with the line “Best. Team-up. Ever”  The look on Green Arrow and Black Canary’s faces plus the action that evoked those expressions were priceless.  Laugh out loud.  Sometimes comic book violence is funny.   In the mainstream DC books violence is usually very grim, it’s nice to get a change of pace.

The ending was also perfect.  A “I really want to see what happens next” moment that we’ll probably never see played out, but I can imagine how it will go and that’s good enough for me.  This is a highly recommended issue, I’m going to have to hunt down the 1st 12 issues of this series (also available digitally on-line), and I’m adding Year Two to my pull list.

Reviewed by: Bob Bretall – bob@comicspectrum.com
https://comicspectrum.com/ Covering the full spectrum of comics culture

ComicSpectrum ComicBookRoundup Comic Blog Elite Follow ComicSpectrum: ComicSpectrum Twitter ComicSpectrum FB

About comicspectrum

The goal of ComicSpectrum is to provide a one-stop reference for everything about & related to comics and comics culture.
This entry was posted in DC and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.