Winter Soldier: The Bitter March #1 (Marvel)

WinterSoldier1

Rating: 4.5/5 – Stellar Espionage Action in 1966.
by ComicSpectrum EiC Bob Bretall.

I will never say never again.  I’d previously been of the opinion that while I was a great fan of Rick Remender’s creator-owned comics (Fear Agent, Strange Girl, Sea of Red, Last Days of American Crime, to name a few) I have never been a fan of his Marvel comics work.  It’s not that any of it has been bad, it just never clicked with me.  Until today.  Until Winter Soldier: The Bitter March.

This issue is a love letter to 1960s Nick Fury and S.H.I.E.L.D. as well as the entire genre of spy fiction.  Winter Soldier plays a tangential, but key, role in this story that focuses on 1966 Nick Fury and fellow S.H.I.E.L.D. Agent Ran Shen infiltrating Castle Hydra in order to get their hands on a pair of Nazi scientists.  Remender keeps the dialogue engaging, balances talk with action, and introduces a very creepy new villain (at least new to me).  Roland Boschi’s art is a perfect match for the story, clean lines and a very retro feel that fits the 1966 setting.

As period pieces go, this story gets the job done.  It evokes a feeling of the time it’s set in while not feeling dated.  I’m very happy I picked this up and flipped through it in the comic shop, glad I bought it and read it, and I’m looking forward to the rest of the series.   Winter Soldier: The Bitter March is highly recommended!

Reviewed by: Bob Bretall
(bob@comicspectrum.com
)
https://comicspectrum.com/ Covering the full spectrum of comics culture

ComicSpectrum ComicBookRoundup Comic Blog Elite Follow ComicSpectrum: ComicSpectrum Twitter ComicSpectrum FB

About comicspectrum

The goal of ComicSpectrum is to provide a one-stop reference for everything about & related to comics and comics culture.
This entry was posted in Marvel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Winter Soldier: The Bitter March #1 (Marvel)

  1. Pingback: Winter Soldier Wednesday: The Bitter March | You Fancy Me Mad

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.