Alex + Ada #4 (Image)

Alex+Ada4

Rating: 5/5 – Compelling story on the nature of being ‘human’.
by ComicSpectrum EiC Bob Bretall.

I gave this book a 4/5 when I reviewed issue #1 and Shawn gave it a 4/5 when he reviewed issue #2.  In my opinion Jonathan Luna and Sarah Vaughn kicked the book up a notch this issue and deserve every bit of the 5/5 I’m giving it.

Is the story “slow”?  I can see someone saying this.  My thought is that it’s paced just right for the story being told.  This is not an action story.  It’s about the human condition and the somewhat ephemeral qualities that make someone a real person.  An examination of sentience and artificial intelligence and what may one day move from the realm of science fiction into science fact.  The story plays out at a measured pace that I think is perfect for the concepts and actions being laid out and considered by main protagonist Alex.  He’s disturbed that his android Ada is so physically life-like yet lacks the spark that would really make her a person he could enjoy being with.

At the end of #3 Alex found a forum where he could talk about android sentience.  The visualization of this forum in this issue was wonderful.  The people Alex interacts with and the decisions he makes are key elements to the character development story arc Luna and Vaughn are creating here.  I like Alex as a person, I care about him and I love the fact that Luna and Vaughn have made me care.  There’s not a lot more I can say without spoiling the issue, but the series has been building to this since the beginning and the last page is the moment we’ve been waiting for, a perfect cliffhanger to keep me on the edge of my seat until next month.  Alex + Ada just moved up into my “Top 12” current series… I need to go update the web-site.

Reviewed by: Bob Bretall
(bob@comicspectrum.com
)
https://comicspectrum.com/ Covering the full spectrum of comics culture

ComicSpectrum ComicBookRoundup Comic Blog Elite Follow ComicSpectrum: ComicSpectrum Twitter ComicSpectrum FB

About comicspectrum

The goal of ComicSpectrum is to provide a one-stop reference for everything about & related to comics and comics culture.
This entry was posted in Image and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.