Magneto #1 (Marvel)

Magneto1

Rating: 3/5- A villainous fight for mutant rights.
by ComicSpectrum reviewer Gilad Levin.

Magneto is a very hit or miss character. The one thing I liked about the story is that Bunn managed to keep Magneto as an antagonist in this story and wasn’t tempted to make him feel sympathetic at any point; it’s very clear Magneto is a villain.  But, that is also what I thought was wrong this book.  It made Magneto feel one dimensional, delusional and uninteresting to me and I could not relate to him or support his cause like I usually do.

I did not like how Cullen Bunn handled writing this beloved character. The overall plot was decent, but I felt like every plot point was repeated and over explained which got really annoying after a while.

Magneto #1 isn’t perfect – far from it. It suffers problems in both the character and story department, but they aren’t unbearable and can be fixed. The story showed some real potential for the future and I’ll have to wait for the next issue to determine whether or not I’ll be continuing on with this series, if #2 is like #1 I will not be.

Reviewed by: Bob Bretall
(bob@comicspectrum.com
)
https://comicspectrum.com/ Covering the full spectrum of comics culture

ComicSpectrum ComicBookRoundup Comic Blog Elite Follow ComicSpectrum: ComicSpectrum Twitter ComicSpectrum FB

About comicspectrum

The goal of ComicSpectrum is to provide a one-stop reference for everything about & related to comics and comics culture.
This entry was posted in Marvel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Magneto #1 (Marvel)

  1. I don’t normally chime in when I have a differing opinion from one of the reviewers, but this comic is a perfect example of how different people will have completely different impressions of the same thing. I’d give this book a 4.5 and have added the series to my pull list. If this comic is “fixed” to be what Gilad wants to see, I think I will stop liking it.

    It seems like Gilad wanted this comic to be something that it did not turn out to be. Magneto has, for years now, been painted as a fairly sympathetic character. As Gilad points out, Bunn has made Magneto a villain through and through. He is clearly a bad guy here and I loved that about this issue. I didn’t think Magneto was one-dimensional at all; in fact the scene with him in the hotel interacting with the maid was a really key scene that I thought gave some depth to the character behind the helmet that I’ve never seen before.

  2. cobyscomics says:

    “one dimensional, delusional and uninteresting to me and I could not relate to him”

    yep, my thoughts exactly. i hate how he just came across as a murdering psycopath. i prefer to think of magneto as portrayed in the films: a grandfatherly idealist with a troubled past that leads him down the more extreme path

  3. I think you sum it up, Coby. If you want a grandfatherly idealist Magneto (which seems to be what Gilad was also looking for) this is not going to be your cup of tea.
    If you think Magneto is ACTUALLY a murdering psychopath (like I do) and not just a misunderstood anti-hero, then you will probably like it, because he’s definitely a bad guy here.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.