The Superannuated Man #1 (Image)

Basic CMYKTedMcKeever
CREDIT: Image Comics                                 CREDIT: ComicSpectrum

Rating: 4/5 – An Eccentric Look Into a Dystopian Future.
by ComicSpectrum reviewer Adam Alamo.

I tried something new this week when I picked up The Superannuated Man #1.  From the weird name, to the creepy figure gawking at me on the cover, it is not the type of book I typically pick up.  I didn’t even recognize the creator, Ted McKeever.  Does that mark me as an inexperienced comic fan?  Maybe.  But you have to start somewhere.

So let’s start with the name: The Superannuated Man.  I will do the heavy lifting for you and define superannuated: /adjective/ antiquated or obsolete.  The main character (creepy figure on the cover) certainly looks like an old guy, but I think the name has more to do with the premise of the book.  Set in some unspecified future, the protagonist is surrounded by mutated animal-like creatures that seem to dominate the landscape.  Humans, it seems, have become obsolete.  From the opening pages, this book has a very Omega Man (1971 film) feel to it–the apparent last man on Earth, living a solitary existence with only a mannequin to talk to, surrounded by mysterious creatures who spy on him. That alone sold me on this book, seeing as Omega Man is one of my favorite films (and I can totally see Charlton Heston as the Superannuated Man).  From there, the story doesn’t develop too much in this issue, but the premise provided a solid ‘hook’.  The pacing is slow, but serves the purpose of setting up this dystopian future.  It ends with a cliffhanger, daring you to pick up the next issue, where, hopefully, the pacing will pick up a little.  The art, also by Ted McKeever, is fantastic, with plenty of panels solely illustrating the strange creatures of the future.  I admit to being a fan of copious amounts of wordless panels.  After all, the artwork is part of what makes the comic medium unique from other methods of storytelling.   AND Ted had the great sense of humor to draw the Superannuated Man in his own image (that’s Ted in the photo above!).  He has a new fan…me!

A friend of mine said his experience is people either love Ted McKeever’s work or else go “huh?!”  While Superannuated Man #1 had me saying “huh?!” plenty of times, that wasn’t necessarily a bad thing.  Was it weird?  Yes.  Did it have me wondering what exactly was going on?  Sure.  Did I question why it was released in Golden Age format?  Certainly.  But will I be back for the next issue?  Bet on it.

Reviewed by: Adam Alamo
(adam@comicspectrum.com
)
https://comicspectrum.com/ Covering the full spectrum of comics culture

ComicSpectrum ComicBookRoundup Comic Blog Elite Follow ComicSpectrum: ComicSpectrum Twitter ComicSpectrum FB

About comicspectrum

The goal of ComicSpectrum is to provide a one-stop reference for everything about & related to comics and comics culture.
This entry was posted in Image and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.