Unfollow #1 (DC/Vertigo)

Unfollow1

CREDIT: DC/Vertigo

Rating: 4/5 – 140 People are Selected to Inherit $17 Billion
by ComicSpectrum EiC Bob Bretall

Vertigo are my DC books of choice lately.  As much as I have been pulling back from their super-hero universe, I have been jumping on board with the new Vertigo debuts and really enjoying them.  Unfollow, written by Rob Williams with art by Mike Dowling, a couple of creators who have done a lot of work in 2000AD, including the series “The Grievous Journey of Ichabod Azrael” that was recently reprinted by Rebellion.

Dowling’s art is a huge draw for me, his fine lines are really appealing to me, I’d be on board with this just for his art, but the extra bonus is I really like the story being set up too.  Activism, social media, geo-politics, and more play a role as the pieces are set on the board.  There is a lot of potential for this story, but I’m going to have to read a few more issues to see how things develop because this debut issue is really strong on setting the stage with less emphasis on payoffs.  That said, the way Williams has crafted the set up is so intriguing that it immediately grabbed me and got me to add this to my pull list.

Unfollow #1 is setting the stage for a series that looks like it will be a sweeping character-oriented mystery.  Larry Ferrell, a billionaire with 800k+ twitter followers, is dying and he’s planning to give his $17B away to 140 people.  I’m sure there is a connection between the number of people and the number of characters in a tweet, but how exactly were they selected?  And why?  We don’t yet have any idea, but I’m very keen to keep following Unfollow so I can find out.

Reviewed by: Bob Bretall
(bob@comicspectrum.com
)
https://comicspectrum.com/ Covering the full spectrum of comics culture

ComicSpectrum ComicBookRoundup  Follow ComicSpectrum: ComicSpectrum Twitter ComicSpectrum FB

About comicspectrum

The goal of ComicSpectrum is to provide a one-stop reference for everything about & related to comics and comics culture.
This entry was posted in DC, Vertigo and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Unfollow #1 (DC/Vertigo)

  1. Pingback: Red Thorn #1 (DC/Vertigo) | ComicSpectrum Comic Reviews

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.