Black Eyed Kids #1 (Aftershock)

BEK

CREDIT: Black Eyed Kids

Rating: 4/5 – Perfect Comic Series for Fans of the Horror Genre.
by ComicSpectrum reviewer Adam Brunell

While picking up my monthly comics from my local comic shop the owner made some recommendations about new comics I should try. One of those comics, Black Eyed Kids from Aftershock, had a low introductory price so I decided to give it a try.  It was the first Aftershock comic I’ve bought and after reading this issue, I’m glad to be supporting Aftershock and its line.  In suggesting Black Eyed Kids my local comic shop guy used the words “Horror comic” and “Village of the Damned”.  Hearing this, the first thing that popped into my head was 30 Days of Night by writer Steve Niles and artist Ben Templesmith. It’s really the only horror comic I’ve found any kind of satisfaction in reading; I really don’t count Marvel comics like Morbius or Blade as proper parts of the horror genre.

Since this was a #1 issue, Black Eyed Kids was the first I chose to read out of my stack of comics when I got home. The first couple of pages brought back some repressed memories of when my sister would sleep walk when she was little.  Complete chills ran down my spine as writer Joe Pruett nailed this moment for me. Artist Szymon Kudranski captures the moment in a dark and distorted way, and it’s not just this scene, but every page in this comic. My comic shop owner was right, this was like watching Village of the Damned when I was younger, but these kids aren’t psychic, they’re something else. The story kept things simple for the first couple of pages and then jumped right into the insanity. Dark figures standing in the distance, creepy kids, black eyes and death…I loved it.

Black Eyed Kids #1 was well worth the introductory $1.99 price.  It’s definitely not an all ages title and is probably best suited for fans of the horror genre. This was right up my alley since I’m a horror movie fanatic; toss me Jason Voorhees, Freddy Kruger or Michael Myers any day. I feel like this series might reach the level of greatness that 30 Days of Night did and I can’t wait for the next issue to be released.

Reviewed by: Adam Brunell
(adamb@comicspectrum.com
)
https://comicspectrum.com/ Covering the full spectrum of comics culture

ComicSpectrum ComicBookRoundup  Follow ComicSpectrum: ComicSpectrum Twitter ComicSpectrum FB

About comicspectrum

The goal of ComicSpectrum is to provide a one-stop reference for everything about & related to comics and comics culture.
This entry was posted in Aftershock and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.