Son of Merlin #1 (Image/Top Cow)

SoM1

Rating: 3 / 5 – Worth a try

Another #1 that’s definitely worth a try for the $1 cover price.  The art, by Zid, is gorgeous.  Robert Napton’s story felt a bit scattered to me.  We had a lot of things happening, a lot of characters being introduced , but how those people & things are going to hang together into a coherent story didn’t come across to me in this issue.

I’m all for building up suspense and not laying all your cards on the table up front as a writer, but there’s a fine line to tread there in that I need to feel like I got a satisfying chunk of story when I get to the end of any single issue of a comic.  The story seems like it’s going to get someplace I’d enjoy eventually, but in and of itself, this issue didn’t compel me to pre-order #2, though I’ll definitely check out #2 at the LCS.

For $1 I’d recommend that people who like mystery, magic, and fantasy elements encroaching into the modern day world of suits & science give this a try.

bob@comicspectrum.com
https://comicspectrum.com/   Covering the full spectrum of comics culture

Comic Blog Elite

About comicspectrum

The goal of ComicSpectrum is to provide a one-stop reference for everything about & related to comics and comics culture.
This entry was posted in Image, Top Cow and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.