Red Sonja #1 (Dynamite)

Red-Sonja

CREDIT: Dynamite

Rating: 4.5/5 – Seeing Red, and loving it!
by ComicSpectrum reviewer Adam Brunell

First off, let me just say that I haven’t picked up a Red Sonja comic since I was a teenager and that was well over 13 years ago. From what I can remember from back then, I wasn’t all about the design of Red Sonja and her attire. The idea of a skin tight ironclad bikini wasn’t meant for me, but I’m coming into Red Sonja #1 with an open mind and fresh start.  Now on with the show and tell!

Marguerite Bennett has taken the reins on Red Sonja from previous writer Gail Simone. Marguerite has had her hand in numerous titles that I have loved, so I was pleased to see her name here. Her way of writing pulls me in, wanting to read more and has left me thinking, “Who is this amazing character named Red Sonja so self-aware and honorable?” The story is well done with a lot crammed into this first issue, I was left asking questions but luckily the dialogue, narration and story were so good that my overall experience was positive.

Artist Aneke is pulling out all the stops on the art and should hold her head high and be proud. The art uses great angles and flow, lighting is well placed and things don’t feel dark and barbaric. Red Sonja is well clothed, like a proud sword wielding woman should be. Red Sonja isn’t just a crazed bodacious woman with a sword and dynamite figure, she’s what you would expect to see when a warrior walks in the room ready to slay. Her clothing is worn with the honor she brings with her, and even when things are getting “adult friendly” things are drawn tastefully. Aneke keeps the focus on the story and the characters, instead of relying on a scantily clad woman on every page.

The story and art in this new Red Sonja #1 left me impressed.  So impressed that I can’t wait for the next issue to come out. I will be adding this to my monthly reads to keep an eye on Marguerite Bennett and Aneke as they continue this story.  Here’s hoping they keep things interesting.

Reviewed by: Adam Brunell
(adamb@comicspectrum.com
)
https://comicspectrum.com/ Covering the full spectrum of comics culture

ComicSpectrum ComicBookRoundup  Follow ComicSpectrum: ComicSpectrum Twitter ComicSpectrum FB

About comicspectrum

The goal of ComicSpectrum is to provide a one-stop reference for everything about & related to comics and comics culture.
This entry was posted in Dynamite and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.